Brief Profile of the PNC

Party Brief: PNC

The PNC has contested all national elections since the inception of the fourth republic apart from the 1992 Ghanaian parliamentary election, which was boycotted along with other opposition parties.

At the 7 December 2004 elections, the party was part of the Grand Coalition that won 4 out of 230 seats. Edward Mahama, candidate of the Grand Coalition won 1.9% of the vote at the presidential elections. At the December 2008 elections, the party won 2 seats in Parliament. For the fourth time in a row, Edward Mahama was the presidential candidate. He received 0.8% of the vote. Hassan Ayariga was elected in 2011 as the flagbearer of the party to contest the 2012 presidential elections. Hassan Ayariga received 0.22% of the vote in the 2012 General Elections.

Party Profile:

Founded: 27 July 1992

Leader: Edward Mahama

Chairman: Bernard Mornah

General Secretary: Atik Mohammed

Vice Chairman:   Henry Haruna

Founder: Hilla Limann

Headquarters: Arts Centre, Accra

Ideology: Nkrumaism, Socialism, Pan-Africanism

Colours: Red, green and white

Slogan: Eye kube, Service with honesty

Election symbol: Palm tree

Parliamentary performance in past elections:

Election Year Number of Seats
1996 5
2000 3
2004 4
2008 2
2012 1
Select a page