Brief Profile of the CPP

Party Brief: CPP

The CPP was formed on 12 June 1949 by Kwame Nkrumah to campaign for the independence of the Gold Coast. It was the governing party under Nkrumah of the autonomous British colony of the Gold Coast from 1951 to 1957, and independent Ghana from 1957 to 1966. The party was banned after the 24 February 1966 coup d’état by the National Liberation Council

The CPP remained dissolved until 29 January 1996, when the National Convention Party and the People’s Convention Party merged to form a new Convention People’s Party. The CPP has contested each election since 1996.

At the elections on 7 December 2004, the party won three out of 230 seats. Its candidate in the presidential elections, George Aggudey, won only 1.0% of the vote.

In the 2008 presidential and parliamentary elections, the party won one parliamentary seat: that of Samia Nkrumah in the Jomoro constituency. The presidential candidate, Paa Kwesi Nduom, performed below expectation, managing to get 1.4% of total valid votes.

Party Profile

Founded: June 12, 1949. Banned 1966. Refounded 29 January 1996.

Leader: Ivor Kobina Greenstreet

Chairman: Edmund N. Delle

General Secretary: Nii Armah Akomfrah

Founder: Kwame Nkrumah

Headquarters: Asylum Down, Accra

Ideology: Nkrumahism, Socialism, Pan-Africanism

Political position: Left-wing

Colours: Red, white and green

Slogan: “Forward ever, backward never”, “Ghana Must Work Again the CPP is emerging!”

Election symbol: Red cockerel on a white background

Parliamentary performance in past elections:

Election Year Number of Seats
2000 1
2004 3
2008 1
2012 1
Select a page